NYS Divorce Laws

Find resources and information on New York State divorce laws, compiled by our team to aid visitors and clients searching for clear information while navigating a divorce in New York.

What Are The Grounds For Divorce Under New York Divorce Law?

New York State Divorce laws

Under New York Domestic Relations Law, there are seven grounds for divorce; four fault-based, two separation-based, and one no-fault based grounds. The grounds are:

  1. Cruel and inhuman treatment (fault based)
  2. Abandonment (fault based)
  3. Imprisonment (fault based)
  4. Adultery (fault based)
  5. Living separate and apart by judicial separation judgment or decree (separation based)
  6. Living separate and apart by separation agreement(separation based)
  7. Irretrievable breakdown (no-fault divorce)

These are references in Domestic Relations Law Section 170.

Legal Resources

For the most current divorce laws in the State of New York, please go to the
New York State Legislature website and click on “DOM” (Domestic Relations).

  • Grounds for Divorce: Domestic Relations Law Article 10 § 170
  • Residency: Domestic Relations Law Article 13 § 230
  • Child Support: Domestic Relations Law Article 13 § 240
  • Maintenance: Domestic Relations Law Article § 236
  • Child Support Standards Chart

DISCLAIMER: Divorce Mediation Professionals does not guarantee that the information on this page is accurate or up-to-date.

To Top